History of India is a blog based on the Story of the Indian History,Travel information on historical places of india, and history of historical places.History Of India has tried best to deliver information of various places of India.

Saturday, 15 March 2014

Jim Corbett National Park in Uttarakhand, India

  Raj Thakkar       Saturday, 15 March 2014
  Jim Corbett National Park is located in Nainital District of Uttarakhand. Let me tell you that Corbett national park is the oldest national park in India. In 1936, It was established as Haiely National Park to protect endangered Bengal tiger. This park was the first project tiger in India. After India became Independent, Park was named as Ramganga National Park. But in 1956 it was renamed as Jim Corbett National Park. Jim Corbett has played major role in the establishment of this Park and because of that park was named after him. Corbett National Park is one of the famous Wildlife Sanctuaries. 
Jim Corbet National park

   The Park has 488 different plants and variety of Animals like Elephant, Tiger, Sambar, Dear, Chital, King Kobra, Nilgai, Gharial, Wild Boar, Flying fox. The Park has also 600 types of birds. Area of Corbett National Park is 521 Square Kilometer. Corbett National Park draws thousands of Indian and Foriegener Visitors every year. Jim Corbett National park has four entry gates which are amdanda gate, Khara Gate, Durga Devi Gate and Dhangarhi Gate.
Elephants in Jim Corbett National Park

    If you have not visited Jim Corbett National Park and you like adventure, Wild Life and Nature then I suggest you that you must visit Corbett National Park in Nainital. Important note is that please book your safaris before you reach at the Park. Reason behind advanced booking is that only 60 vehicles are allowed in the park at a time. Winter is the best season to visit the Corbett National park. Keep in mind during plan your visit to Corbett National park that in Rainy season tourists are not allowed. I hope this information about Corbett National Park is helpful to you. Stay in touch for more places of India.

Thanks for reading Jim Corbett National Park in Uttarakhand, India